What is synchronization?
When you use one of Roger's integrations for ERP systems and accounting platforms, Roger automatically syncs document and payment data to the corresponding entries in the ERP system. This happens, for instance, when a document has been approved, when you change details like category, amount or department, or when a bill has been paid.
Why sync manually?
In some situations you may need to manually sync a document or to even create a new entry in your ERP system altogether. This can be necessary, for instance, if Roger has encountered an error, and the automatic synchronization of a document is failing. After this error has been fixed, you can manually resync the document to update the corresponding entry. You can either synchronize one document or bulk-synchronize multiple documents at a time.
How to sync manually
Synchronizing one document
1. First, find the document for which you want to synchronize data, and open the Integrations tab:
2. Next, choose the desired integration from the dropdown, e.g. Xero. This will show you the integration log for the Xero integration. By clicking the Re-sync integration button, Roger will manually sync data for this document to Xero:
3. This opens a new window where you must select to which entry in Xero you want to sync: the vendor bill entry or the vendor payment entry. Select the desired entry, and click Re-sync:
- Naturally, it's only possible to sync vendor payment data if a payment has actually been made, or if the document has been marked as paid.
Synchronizing multiple documents
When bulk-synchronizing, i.e. syncing multiple documents at a time, Roger will automatically attempt to synchronize with all existing entries related to the individual document. This means that if an invoice entry and a payment entry already exists in your ERP, Roger will attempt to update both of these.
If none of these entries can be found in your ERP, Roger will attempt to create them. In this case, Roger will create an invoice entry for documents with status 'Unpaid' and an invoice entry + a payment entry for documents with status 'Paid'.
1. Mark the documents you wish to synchronize by clicking the empty box that is shown when hovering over the left end of a document.
2. When you have marked all the documents you wish to re-synchronize, click the button Re-sync that is now shown at the top of the page.
3. You will now see a short animation that confirms the synchronization attempt.
- If the synchronization happened without any issues, you will now see the updated entries in your ERP. If no existing entries could be located for a document, Roger will have created new entries for that document. You can view more details about the synchronization in the Integrations tab on the individual document.
- If Roger encountered an error when attempting to synchronize one or more documents, these documents will be visible in the Requires attention tab where you will be notified about this error. You can view more details about the error and how to solve it in the Integrations tab on the individual document.
What happens when I perform a manual synchronization?
- If the entry already exists in the ERP system it will be updated to match the document's details in Roger at the time of the synchronization.
- If the entry has already been booked in the ERP system, Roger will not be able to update the entry. To avoid duplicate entries, you are also prevented from creating a new entry.
- If the entry does not yet exist in the ERP system, a new entry will be created that match the document's details in Roger at the time of the synchronization.
You can read more about the Integrations tab in this article.