By selecting a coworker as a default approver, you ensure that any document that does not activate any workflow rule will require approval from that coworker. For instance, if you have disabled the Workflow component, the default approver would automatically be appointed to approve any submitted document. 

The default approver can be selected by going to Settings > Advanced > Workflow, and then selecting the desired employee as the default approver:

Did this answer your question?