In order to submit expenses to your Roger account, you'll need to invite coworkers onto the platform. When you invite a coworker, however, you have the option to give them access to different features, permissions and responsibilities when it comes to managing your Roger processes. 

This article will summarize the four possible roles for your coworkers - Owner, Administrator, Contributor and Viewer - as well as outline the various permissions you can assign to coworkers. 

As an owner or administrator in a company account, you can change a coworker's role and permissions by clicking on the three dots to the right of the coworker's name:

In this view you can also select a primary department for the employee, which is relevant if the company account divides employees into departments.

Owner

If you create a company account, you will automatically be assigned as its Owner. This can be, for example, the company's bookkeeper or the company's CFO. The owner can have visibility into everything that's happening in the company account.

The ownership of a company's Roger account can be transferred by the owner to another employee by clicking on the three dots next to the employee you wish to transfer the ownership to, and then clicking transfer ownership

An owner is the only coworker role that can delete the company account. This is done under Settings> Account> Company details.

An owner has the following permissions that can be toggled on/off by administrators, or by the owner themself:

  • Expenses submitted by [owner name] will require approval 

By default, expenses submitted by the owner will not require approval, i.e. expenses submitted via smartphone, Roger’s web dashboard, or via the company account's RogerAddress. On the other hand, if this option is toggled on, the owner's expenses will always require approval.

An owner has the following permissions, among others, which cannot be switched on/off:

  • They can always appoint one or more coworkers to approve an expense pending approval, regardless of which other coworkers are already appointed.
  • They can change integration settings. 
  • They can edit account payment methods.
  • They can set up and edit workflow rules.
  • They can change subscriptions and modules.
  • They can invite coworkers to the company account (and remove them again).

Administrator:

An administrator has basically the same permissions as an owner, though they cannot delete the company account. Examples of administrators could be your company's accountant, CFO and/or department heads. 

An administrator has the following permissions that can be turned on/off by the owner and other administrators:

  • Bills from this coworker don't require approval 

By default, expenses added by administrators will require approval, i.e. expenses added via smartphone, web app or via the company's RogerAddress. If this setting is checked, the administrator's expenses will not require approval.

  • This coworker can always appoint approvers for all bills.

If this permission is checked, the administrator can always appoint one or more coworkers to approve an expense pending approval, regardless of which other coworkers are already appointed. This permission can be further modified to be applied only to bills added by the administrator themself. 

An administrator also has the following permissions automatically, which cannot be switched on/off:

  • They can submit bills
  • They can set up and edit workflow rules. 
  • They can add/change payment methods for the company account
  • They can change integration settings. 
  • They can change subscriptions and modules.
  • They can invite coworkers to the company account (and remove them again).
  • They can assign other coworkers on the company account as bill approvers

Contributor

Contributors do not have as many permissions as Owners or Administrators. The main function of Contributors, as the name suggests, is to submit expenses to the company account. 

Examples of contributors could be: a department colleague who regularly has travel expenses to submit, or one who works with a vendor and submits payments to your accounting team on their behalf.

A contributor has the following permissions that can be turned on/off by the owner and administrators:

  • This coworker can only see expenses submitted by themselves or when they are appointed.

If this permission is turned on, the contributor can only see expenses that the contributor themselves added or expenses they are appointed to approve. This can be useful if you want to limit the contributor's participation and insight into the company's activities in Roger. 

  • Bills from this coworker don't require approval

By default, bill added by contributors will require approval before being paid. If this option is turned on, expenses added by this coworker will not require approval.

  • This coworker can always appoint approvers for all bills.

If this permission is turned on, the contributor may always appoint one or more coworkers to approve a bill pending approval. This permission may be further modified to apply only to expenses added by the contributor themself. 

  • A contributor, unlike the owner and administrator, cannot change the integration settings, edit the account's payment methods, or set up and edit rules. They also can't change the subscriptions or modules, or invite or change the company account's coworkers.

Viewer

The Viewer's role is quite simple: they can only view bills that are submitted to the company account, and nothing else. 

Being a viewer is convenient if you, for instance, are the head of a department or team and want to keep track of your coworkers' spending without being responsible for approving or adding bills. For instance, you can also assign your accountant or bookkeeper as Viewers so they can keep an overview of your company's financials without the ability to add expenses.

  • Learn how to invite a co-worker to a company account here.
Did this answer your question?